Those Palms Got Me Feeling Some Type of Way

The Palm Trees creak as they sway back and forth.

The grass slowly turns a light brown as the Southern California sun becomes hot at noon.

The plastic beach chairs squeak under student’s bodies.

The pool water spreads out onto the hot cement as students splash in the shallow end up the pool.

An ant colony follows in a line in an effort to find shade under the lounge chairs.

The clanking of construction on a Chapman building near by stabs into the quietness.

I flip over onto my stomach as my light blue eyes start to water from the sun.

My book, “The Night Circus”, transports me into another world, as my eyes dart from word to word not able to read fast enough for my intrigue.

Friends greet each other in passing, outside the fence of the pool, as they travel from class to dorm and vice versa.

As the sun goes away, students gather around the fire pit, engaging in song and marshmallow roasting.

Dodge student’s direct actors, as they create a pool scene for their upcoming film project.

Students retire to the shade of the Palm Trees and grass as the sun becomes unbearable.

Girls share tanning oil between friends, hoping it will give them that extra tan.

Birds fly above, heading to the coast to find food.

Boys balance on tight ropes, tied to palm trees, as people walk in awe.

3 thoughts on “Those Palms Got Me Feeling Some Type of Way

  1. Nice descriptions. Here are my favorite lines:
    1. “The Palm Trees creak as they sway back and forth.” I like this mostly because it matched the way I pictured huge palm trees moving in my mind, probably because of your use of the word “creak.”
    2. “The plastic beach chairs squeak under student’s bodies.” This one I liked because it was just one line away from the palm trees creaking line, which I noticed as possibly an unintentional rhyming between “creak” and “squeak,” but I liked that because it seemed like it created a parallel between the students and the trees.
    3. “The clanking of construction on a Chapman building near by stabs into the quietness.” This line I loved because of the verb you chose, “stab,” to describe the construction. Super accurate haha. The construction definitely does “stab into the quietness,” so I like this line for the image and sounds it produces for the reader.
    The only question I had was about midway through, you describe the sun going away and students gathering around the fire pit, which to me, implied that it was nighttime. However, then you turn back to a very bright, daylight description of girls sharing tanning oil. Possibly move the firepit sentence toward the end to maybe form a sense of progression through the day?

    Like

  2. The grass slowly turns a light brown as the Southern California sun becomes hot at noon.
    An ant colony follows in a line in an effort to find shade under the lounge chairs.
    My book, “The Night Circus”, transports me into another world, as my eyes dart from word to word not able to read fast enough for my intrigue.

    I love all of these sentences because they provide great description. I know exactly what you are talking about when you say the grass turns light brown at noon, because I have seen it myself; at the pool and around campus. I can picture an any colony walking together in unison just as you described. And “as my eyes dart from word to word” couldn’t be more accurate when you are reading a good book.

    What about “The Night Circus” makes it so good that you can’t put it down? Where were you sitting when you wrote this? In a beach chair too over looking everyone that was within the gates? Do you have a desire to learn how to walk on tight ropes that the boys you saw?

    Like

  3. You gave me a mini vacation! I love that experience. Thank you.

    One of my favorite elements of this post is that you open with the sense of sound. Very cool.
    Did you forget this part of the Post guidelines? “Sketch. Photograph. Take notes. Figure out how to identify what you are looking at. Go research its scientific name, its history, its origin.”

    You’ll want to make sure you add outside facts and quotes as you develop this into your Close Observation project, right?

    Like

Leave a comment